Skip to main content

OCALD Minutes

Minutes of the November 18, 2004 meeting
State Regents' Conference Room – Oklahoma City

In Attendance
On site: Sharon Saulmon, Rose State; Barbara King, OCCC; Bonnie McNeely, UCO; Debra Engel, OU; Phil Moss, OSRHE; Christine Dettlaff, Redlands; Jan Reinbold, SNU; Gina Minks, TU; Jonathan Sparks, OBU; Francine Fisk, TU; Mike Rusk, TCC; Allen McKiel, NSU; Marty Thompson, OUHSC; Susan Jeffries, NWOSU; Jenny Duncan, OSU-Okmulgee; Njambi Kamoche, Langston; Victoria Swinney, OCU; Daphane Kerley, Connors; Evlyn Schmidt, OPSU; Br. Benet Exton, St. Gregory’s; Anne Prestamo, OSU Stillwater; Beth Freeman, OSU-Tulsa; Vicki Sullivan, ODL; Don Gilstrap, Southwestern
Remote: Sherry Young, Cameron; Karen Neurohr, Carl Albert; Tom Messner, NSU-Broken Arrow; Dana Belcher, East Central; Adrianna Lancaster, East Central; Kelly Brown, USAO

Sharon Saulmon called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. Introductions were made and the minutes of the September 23, 2004 meeting were approved.

Phil Moss gave the Regents’ Report. He reported there were two new people in the Regents’ Office. He also reported the Regents have a new Strategic Focus that would focus on three broad goals. He said those goals are student prep initiatives, increasing completion rates and more promotion of economic development and research. Phil said Oklahoma was dead last nationwide in per capita R&D funds.

Vicki Sullivan was present to represent ODL. She handed out the ODL training schedule and discussed training opportunities.

Committee Reports

Bonnie McNeely, Cooperative Collection Development & Resource Sharing: Bonnie created a list of databases to see if there is enough commonality to get group pricing. She asked the group to please check the list for accuracy and let her know of any changes.

Cindy Pollard, Web Page: Cindy was not present, but Sharon said to continue to send any web page information to Cindy.

Beth Freeman, OK-Share: No Report

Allen McKiel, Expanded Instructional Support: Mike Rusk has been named as co-chair of the committee. Adrianna Lancaster has been added to the committee. No report, the committee will meet in December.

Daphane Kerley, By-Laws Revision: Daphane said she could email anyone a copy of the bylaws if they have any questions.

Sharon reported that Marty Thompson was elected by the Executive Committee to replace the vacant position of immediate past President.

Sharon shared information from the CLS Newsletter on “Standards for Libraries in Higher Education”. These are new standards, and Sharon suggested a workshop. Victoria Swinney and Karen Neurohr volunteered to work on it. Don Gilstrap also volunteered since he is on the ACRL committee.

Karen Neurohr coordinated a demonstration hosted in Tulsa of low vision equipment and software. The rep doing the demonstration said there could be group discount pricing, and Phil said the Regents’ office could assist in any bids, etc.

Gina Minks who is the Web and Digitization person at UT discussed digital archives and OKDIGITAL. Gina said the website could be accessible after the first of the year. The URL is

Marty Thompson discussed EPSCOR (Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) and an $18 million INBRE grant through the Health Sciences Center. Marty is concerned about faculty who have received a portion of this grant and are at institutions that do not have all the resources necessary for them to complete their research. He said that library support for this grant had not been addressed. He feels there should be a statewide effort for access to scientific research e-journals and databases.

Sharon reported the Chancellor sent an email to all council chairs/vice-chairs asking if they would like to all get together to share information about what each group is doing.

The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, February 17, 2005 in the Regents’ Conference Room.

March 30, 2005 is the OCALD dinner with the Public Library Directors.

April 12, 2005 is OLA Legislative Day. [OLA Legislative Day has since been moved to April 13.]

Sharon adjourned the meeting at 2:55 p.m.