Skip to main content

OCALD Minutes

Minutes of the November 17, 2005 meeting
State Regents' Conference Room – Oklahoma City

In Attendance
On Site: Jon Sparks, MACU; Tony Hardman, WOSC; Nancy Draper, Hillsdale; Sheila Johnson, OSU-Stillwater; Beth Reiten, OSU-Stillwater; Karen Neurohr, CASC; Darcy Rankin, Langston; Debra Engel, OU; Christine Dettlaff, Redlands; Marty Thompson, OUHSC; Victoria Swinney, OK City University; Jan Reinbold, SNU; Bonnie McNeely, UCO; Don Gilstrap, SWOSU; Sherry Young, Cameron; Sharon Saulmon, Rose State; Barbara King, OCCC

Remote: Evlyn Schmidt, OPSU; Daphane Kerley, Conners; Cindy Pollard, Ardmore Higher Ed Center; Dana Belcher, East Central; Francine Fisk, University of Tulsa; Allen McKeil, NSU-Tahlequah; Sandy Shadly, Phillips Theological Seminary; Alan Lawless, Rogers, Mike Rusk, TCC; Tom Messner, NSU-Broken Arrow; Beth Freeman, OSU-Tulsa; Jenny Duncan, OSU-Okmulgee

Continuing Business
Sherry Young called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. Introductions were made and the minutes from the September 22, 2005 meeting were approved.

Newsbank representative Jeanne Blauvelt was introduced. Jeanne presented a Power Point presentation highlighting Newsbank’s online news coverage, differences from other online news databases, Oklahoma coverage, customized interface, and online tutorials. Her presentation was followed by a brief question and answer session.

Beth Reiten from OSU-Stillwater was introduced. Beth presented a Power Point presentation on MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching). She explained what MERLOT is and the benefits to libraries and librarians.

An EPSCoR Science and Information Group (ESIG) update was given. ESIG was explained and there was a discussion on NELINET concerning resources that are available to libraries within EPSCoR states. An institution does not have to receive funds from ESCoR to participate in consortium pricing. Any institution within an EPSCoR state may participate.

Committee Reports
Sharon Saulmon reported the Library Standards workshop will be held on April 27, 2006 at Oklahoma Christian University. Two national speakers will be giving presentations. The cost will be $75 per person and will include lunch.

Barbara King gave an update on the PsycInfo renewal.

Marty Thompson distributed a spreadsheet of funds in the events funds. Contributions in the form of cash or check may be given to Marty. Requests for flowers, etc. are to go through Sherry Young.

New Business
Sheila Johnson read a proposed resolution to be presented to Dr. Phil Moss in recognition of his promotion to Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. Sheila moved to pass the resolution and Sharon Saulmon seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Sheila Johnson gave an update on Ed Johnson, retired OSU-Stillwater Dean of Libraries.

The next meeting will be held on February 23, 2006.

Let Sherry Young know who wants to receive the electronic updates from Newsbank.

Sherry adjourned the meeting at 2:35 p.m.