Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

September-October 2015 - Photo Gallery

SWOSU president's leadership class touring southwest Oklahoma. UCO's oldest graduate, Bob Grant. OSU President Burns Hargis at the Proud & Immoirtal Society induction ceremony.

Leading the Way

SWOSU president's leadership class touring southwest Oklahoma.

Students from Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s President’s Leadership Class program in Weatherford recently toured several sites in southwest Oklahoma, including the Cotton Growers Gin, Lake Lugert Dam and the Quartz Mountain area. Among the group were (front from left): Kaity Shoaf, Woodward; Grant Scowden, Poteau; Makenzy Hamon, Piedmont; Alex LaBossiere, Ponca City; Todd Boyd; Tom Buchanan; Matalyn Haney, Leedey; Kennady Nance, Navajo; and Sen. Mike Schulz. Second row -- Taryn Karlin, Weatherford; Claire Chandler, Latta; Dossanna Miller, Fairview; Morgen Price, Cordell; and Tiler Rose, Weatherford. Third row — Jake Gregston, Duncan; Nehyma Martinez, Guymon; and Peyton Isbell, Waukomis. Fourth row — Ashlee Butler, Fort Cobb; Brooke Rankin, Elgin; John Seifried, Seiling; Tanner Boyd, Weatherford; and Brady Boyd, Weatherford. Fifth row — Justin Tharp, Thomas; Conner Patton, Tecumseh; and Caylie Patton, Tecumseh. Sixth row — Bryce Butcher, Elk City; Chase Lott, Ada; and Austin Loomis, Deer Creek. Top row — Savannah Hearn, Cache; and Elise Cornell, Thomas.

[ Return to top ]

A Wealth of Knowledge

UCO's oldest graduate, Bob Grant.

Bob Grant, 82, became the oldest graduate in the University of Central Oklahoma’s 125-year history on May 8 when he received his master’s of gerontology from the university’s Jackson College of Graduate Studies. Grant earned his bachelor’s of science in general studies from Central in 2011, more than 60 years after beginning his degree. He first attended classes on Central’s campus in 1944 as a sixth-grader in Old North.

[ Return to top ]


Proud and Immortal

OSU President Burns Hargis speaking at the Proud & Immoirtal Society induction ceremony.

President Burns Hargis spoke at the inaugural Proud & Immortal Society induction ceremony, which recognized 282 individuals, companies and foundations that have given $1 million or more cumulatively to the university.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer