Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

OCTOBER 13, 2010 - Winners Announced for College Voter Registration Contest

Media Contact

Officials with Oklahoma Campus Compact announced this week that Eastern Oklahoma State College, Rose State College and the University of Central Oklahoma won the 2010 Voter Registration Contest.

Eastern registered 11.6 percent of its enrollment; RSC registered 6.3 percent; and UCO registered 4.3 percent.

All together, 18 college campuses across the state registered 2,424 new student voters over a five-day period. The competition grouped institutions with similar-sized full-time enrollments.

“Congratulations to the winners and all of the campuses that participated in the contest,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. “Voting is an important duty of living in the United States, and I commend our institutions for encouraging more students to make their voices heard by casting their votes.”

This marked the seventh year that Oklahoma Campus Compact sponsored the Voter Registration Contest. Even though the contest has concluded, as part of the 2010 Campus Vote Initiative, officials are encouraging campuses to continue ongoing efforts by providing opportunities for voter education and encouraging and providing assistance for students to vote.

Campus Compact is a coalition of colleges and universities that develops college students’ awareness and skills in civic responsibility through service learning, community service and civic engagement. Thirty-four states have Campus Compact offices. OkCC was formed in 2000 and currently has 35 participating public and private colleges and universities.