Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

Student/FAculty Awards

Student Awards
Faculty Awards
2013 OkCC State Award Recipients
(PDF, 103k)

Student Awards

Newman Civic Fellows
The Newman Civic Fellows Award is named for Dr. Frank Newman, one of the founders of Campus Compact, who dedicated his life to creating opportunities for student civic learning and engagement. Newman Civic Fellows are nominated by their institutional presidents. Through the Newman Civic Fellows Awards, college and university presidents acknowledge students with the ability and motivation to create lasting change in our communities. For more information about the Newman Civic Fellows, visit

2013 Newman Civic Fellows (PDF, 298k)
2012 Newman Civic Fellows (PDF, 290k)
2011 Newman Civic Fellows (PDF, 224k)

Frank Newman Leadership Award
Campus Compact recognizes students with financial need and civic leadership potential and provides both financial support and mentorship to help them achieve their academic and civic goals. Applications are available each January-February and posted here.

2009 Frank Newman Leadership Award Winners
Leticia “Ticia” Burkhalter of Southeastern Oklahoma State University has been selected by Campus Compact to receive the 2009 Frank Newman Leadership Award, which honors outstanding civic leadership. Burkhalter is one of two students in the nation to receive the award. Burkhalter and Molly Hamm, of Kansas State University, will each receive $5,000 for school-related expenses or to support their civic work. They will also receive personal mentoring from their respective college presidents in fulfilling their scholastic, public service and civic leadership potential during their college years. (more)

Read the national Campus Compact news release (external link)

Carter-Kellogg Scholarship
The Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Partnership Foundation offers the Carter-Kellogg Scholarship, sponsored by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and presented by Stetson University. The scholarship of $500 is awarded monthly in recognition of students who have completed or implemented noteworthy service-learning projects. All submitted projects are published online at to serve as a resource for other students, faculty and community partners. Full-time college graduate or undergraduate students who have completed or implemented service-learning projects during their college attendance are eligible to apply. A partnership must exist between the student, his or her academic institution and a community organization partner. A connection must be established between the student's academic program and the service component of the project with oversight of the project by a faculty member or other that loosely oversaw the project.

Fall 2008 Carter Academic Service Entrepreneurship (CASE) Award
The Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education have announced the students selected for Carter Academic Service Entrepreneur (CASE) grant awards through the Oklahoma Campus Compact program. The awards recognize the best volunteer work of college students, faculty and staff as they partner with community groups. (more)


Faculty Awards

2012 OkCC Award Winners (PDF, 55k)
The Oklahoma Campus Compact annual state award program recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions by faculty, staff and community partners.

2011 OkCC Award Winners (PDF, 31k)
The Oklahoma Campus Compact annual state award program recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions by faculty, staff and community partners. The inaugural awards were presented at the 2011 Campus Compact Heartland Conference in September in Overland Park, Kansas.

Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning
Campus Compact recognizes one faculty member for exemplary leadership in advancing the civic learning of students, including public scholarship, building campus commitment to service-learning and civic engagement and fostering reciprocal community partnerships. Applications are available each spring and posted here.

Leadership Award for Campus and Community Engagement
Campus Compact has created the Leadership Award for Campus and Community Engagement to highlight the critical and valuable role of the community engagement professional in higher education.