Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

May 19, 2015 - Higher Education Chancellor Reappointed to Southern Regional Education Board  RSS feed

Media Contact

Photo of Chancellor Glen D. Johnson.Oklahoma State System of Higher Education Chancellor Glen D. Johnson was recently reappointed by Gov. Mary Fallin to serve as one of Oklahoma’s designees to the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB).

“Chancellor Glen Johnson is a champion of public education,” said Gov. Fallin. “Given his dedication and wealth of experience, he is an excellent choice to represent Oklahoma on the SREB, which is an important regional vehicle for ongoing improvements in all areas of education.”

Johnson has served on the board since 2010, including two terms as vice chairman. He currently chairs SREB’s Commission on College Affordability in the South. The reappointment extends his term with SREB to June 30, 2019.

“I am truly honored to be reappointed by Gov. Fallin to the SREB,” said Johnson. “I look forward to continuing the important work undertaken by the board to provide quality and affordable educational opportunities to students and to strengthen public education across the 16 member states.”

Johnson was named chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education in January 2007 following a national search. Before assuming the role of chancellor, Johnson served as the 16th president of Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant for 10 years. He was also director of public policy and adjunct professor of law at the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Prior to his work at OU, Johnson served in the Oklahoma House of Representatives from 1982 to 1996 and was speaker of the House from 1990 to 1996. At the time of his election as speaker, he was the youngest sitting speaker in the United States.

Created in 1948 by southern governors and legislatures who recognized the link between advancing education and improving economic vitality, the SREB is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that works with 16 member states to improve public education at every level, from pre-K through Ph.D. Member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.